What Are the 4 Types of Medicare?

Post Contents

What Are the 4 Types of Medicare?

Medicare is a federal health insurance program that covers more than 62.2 million people who are 65 years old or older. It includes parts A and B, known as Original Medicare, which is a federal health plan provided by the government; Part C (Medicare Advantage), which is private insurance plans that combine elements of Original Medicare with extra services; and Part D, which is prescription drug coverage.

Original Medicare

Part A of Medicare is hospital insurance. It covers costs for inpatient stays at a hospital or skilled nursing facility and outpatient services. It also provides hospice care and home health services.

You can enroll in Original Medicare part B as early as age 65 or as late as age 85. Premiums and copayments are based on your income.

Original Medicare does not cover routine prescription drugs, dental or vision care. Instead, you may need a separate Medicare Supplement policy or a standalone Part D prescription drug plan.


This federal and state health insurance is available to low-income individuals and families. It doesn’t cover long-term care, but it can help pay for other medical services and supplies that Original Medicare does not cover. It also helps pay for transportation to and from medical appointments.

Next PagePrevious Page
Similar Posts