Which Accounting Certification is Best UK?

Which Accounting Certification is Best UK? There are a wide range of accounting certifications available in the UK and it can be confusing to decide which is the best one for you. Whether you’re just starting out or looking for a new career, our guide will help you understand the different qualifications, job roles and pay differences between them.

Post Contents

Which Accounting Certification is Best UK?

Whether you’re looking to take your career into accountancy or want to learn new skills, an accounting qualification from the Association of Accounting Technicians is an ideal way to start. The AAT is a leading professional accounting staff membership body with over 150,000 members worldwide.

The AAT offers a range of courses across three levels: Foundation, Advanced, and Professional. Each is designed for a specific group of experience and covers a different range of accounting practices.

Each course lasts around a year, and each requires you to pass exams. The Foundation Certificate is aimed at those with little or no accounting experience; the Foundation Diploma is a step up from the Foundation Certificate and is aimed at students aged 16 to 19; and the Advanced Diploma is for those with practical accounting knowledge and a firm grasp of double-entry bookkeeping.

AAT is a popular accounting qualification because it’s a good starting point for various online accounting services in uk roles and salary grades. Once qualified, you could earn up to PS20,000 a year as an accountant or bookkeeper; the more experienced you are, the higher your salary will be.


ACA is the best accounting certification in the UK offered by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW). This professional qualification is aimed at helping you develop advanced skills in finance, accountancy and business.

ICAEW is a leading professional accounting body that promotes and professionally develops its members worldwide. It offers a wide range of qualifications and growth programs, including the ACA qualification.

To start your ACA training, you need to secure a training agreement with an authorised ICAEW training employer. There are more than 5,000 authorised ICAEW training providers across the UK.

In addition, you need to have at least 450 days of relevant work experience before you can study for your ACA qualification. This can take up to 3-5 years, depending on your age and career goals.

ACA is a challenging qualification and requires a lot of commitment. It is therefore best to pursue this course only once you are sure of your career aspirations and have a good understanding of what you want to do with your life.


CIMA is the world’s largest professional body for management accountants. Its graduates are able to use the Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA) designation, which gives them industry recognition and can help them get a job in many finance sectors around the world.

CIMA focuses more on business management accounting than financial accounting, making it an excellent option for those looking to work in the business and management arena. It’s a specialist certification that offers more flexibility than the ACCA qualification for those looking to work in commercial finance roles, providing insight and contributing to corporate strategy.

The CIMA Certificate in Business Accounting is the first level of study, and provides fundamental knowledge of business and accounting. You can also progress onto the CIMA Professional qualifications, and become a chartered management accountant.


ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) is a globally recognised professional body. Its qualifications are legally recognized in over 170 countries worldwide.

Its prestigious and highly respected international qualifications in business are widely sought after by multinational and local firms seeking to recruit accounting professionals. The ACCA qualification is comprised of 13 exams and requires practical experience which you can gain in any business sector.

The ACCA qualification is regarded as the equivalent of a UK master’s degree by the NARIC and Department for Education. The exams are held four times a year: March, June, September and December.

ACCA is an ideal qualification for anyone who wants to work as a management accountant or financial controller. This is because it covers all areas of business including management accounting, taxation and audit.

Next PagePrevious Page
Similar Posts